Breakfast muffins | Recipe

I love my sleep and I love my bed, leaving it in the morning it such an ordeal! I plead with my alarm to give me 5 more minutes, I hit snooze until I have only minutes to get ready, then run around like a blue arsed fly.

Hate mornings

I will do anything to cut a few corners in the morning! That includes breakfast on the go! Now, I ‘m not recommending munching breakie in the car, I’d love to sit and slowly muse over my porridge every morning, but that’s just not going to happen!

So my solution, breakfast muffins! I love these little treasures! I make a His and Hers versions, blueberry and oats for me and Cooked Breakfast for my hubby!

I found a great little recipe for the Cooked Breakfast muffins by Creative Juice. It’s really easy and quick.

What you’ll need:

  • 6-8 slices of bread
  • 10 eggs
  • a few rashes of bacon
  • grated cheese

You add anything you like these really, maybe some baby tomatoes, onion, peppers, whatever takes your fancy!

Simply cut circles from the bread and squeeze into the bottom of the muffin trays.  Beat the egg and pour over until the bread is just covered. Topped with cheese and bacon. Then bake at 200 degrees C for about 20 mins!

I based my blueberry muffins on a recipes by Ellaphant Eats, But I forwent the applesauce.

You’ll need:

  • 200g plain floor
  • 200g blueberries
  • 100g oats
  • 100g brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 250ml Greek yogurt
  • 1tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch salt

Combine the dry ingredients, the flour, oats, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Then mix the wet ingredients, the egg, sugar, yogurt and berries. Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and mix together.  Do not over mix it, you want to each the texture, I heard an old wives tale that 8 turns of the spoon ought to be suffice not for mixing muffins, my mix took 10! Bake on 250 degree C for 15 mins, yum!

And the final step…clear up the mess in kitchen! Well maybe after a cup of tea and a sneaky muffin!

A baker's kitchen | Bonsai Hewes

4 thoughts on “Breakfast muffins | Recipe

    1. The blueberry muffins are delicious! My hubby tells me so are the egg and bacon ones (I’m a veggie so can’t have those!) I’ve frozen the berries ones before, I imagine the cooked breakfast ones would freeze well, I’ve just pop a load in there so I’ll let you know how they turn out! X

Leave a Reply

